Legal Bulletins

Hero Image for page

Governor Hogan’s Order Prohibits Initiation of Evictions

Governor Hogan just issued Order 20-04-03-01, prohibiting initiation of residential foreclosures, suspending the notice of intent to foreclose electronic system for such foreclosures, and prohibiting the issuance of judgments for possession or warrants of restitution commercial evictions, repossessions and foreclosures. This can also be found on the Gordon Feinblatt COVID-19 Hub, which contains many more materials and additional information.

We will be adding further information to the hub early next week as things develop. However, in the interim, we have an important caveat. While the order temporarily prevents certain remedies from being undertaken, it does not excuse breach of contracts, leases, loan documents and the like. Therefore, parties should be careful to act in accordance with their obligations.

If you believe circumstances under your relevant agreements may exist, which may delay or excuse performance, please don’t hesitate to consult with us regarding those matters: Searle E. Mitnick, Edward J. Levin, Danielle Stager Zoller, Caroline E. Sweet, William D. Shaughnessy, Jr., and Timothy D.A. Chriss

Searle E. Mitnick
410-576-4107 • smitnick@gfrlaw.com

Edward J. Levin
410-576-1900 • elevin@gfrlaw.com

Danielle Stager Zoller
410-576-4036 • dzoller@gfrlaw.com

Caroline E. Sweet
410-576-4275 • csweet@gfrlaw.com

William D. Shaughnessy, Jr.
410-576-4092 • wshaughnessy@gfrlaw.com

Timothy D.A. Chriss
410-576-4237 • tchriss@gfrlaw.com

For additional information on the impact of the coronavirus, visit our COVID-19 information hub for a list of up-to-date content.